A decade recognising
the rising stars of journalism

For ten years, the 30 To Watch: Young Journalist Awards have recognised the most talented and influential young journalists across Britain.

The awards celebrate ground-breaking work,
throughout the media industry

including reporters, editors, and producers, across twelve categories:
News; City & Business; Culture, Entertainment, Lifestyle; Financial & Consumer Affairs; Health; International Affairs; Politics; Tech; Social Media and Content; Photography; Campaigns & Investigations; and our new award for Depolarisation.

30 to Watch is free to enter and judged by some of the biggest names in news.

Now in its 10th year, the awards are a major fixture in the industry calendar – every year, #30ToWatch attracts hundreds of entries from every field of journalism, with 30 winners chosen.

30 To Watch: Young Journalist Awards.

This year’s judging panel was chaired by Richard Sambrook, Former Director of News at the BBC and now Professor of Journalism at Cardiff University School of Journalism, and included:

Anne Alexander

Senior Political Producer – Good Morning Britain

Peter Campbell

Global Motor Industry Correspondent – Financial Times

Harry Cole

Political Editor – The Sun

Polly Curtis

Managing Director – PA Media

Robert Guest

Foreign Editor – The Economist

Kat Lay

Health Editor – The Times

Kate McCann

Political Correspondent – Sky News

Morgan Meaker

Technology Reporter – The Telegraph

Oliver Smith

Managing Editor – AltFi

Geraldine McKelvie

Investigations Editor – The Mirror

John Stevens

Deputy Political Editor - Daily Mail

Richard Sambrook

Professor of Journalism at Cardiff University School of Journalism

Pandora Sykes

Writer, Journalist and Broadcaster

Isabella Silvers

Integrated Associate Editor – Hearst

Oliver Shah

Business Editor – The Sunday Times

30 to watch alumni

Our growing list of alumni includes many of the best-known names in British journalism – including Reni Eddo-Lodge, Isabel Hardman, Alex Hern, Marie le Conte, Paris Lees, Katie Morley, Seb Payne, Michael Stothard, Sophie Ridge, Jim Waterson, and Alex Wickham.

Explore our #30towatch hall of fame below.

Our newest #30towatch winners

The latest 30 to Watch winners, revealed in Spring 2021, have all worked for their audiences by serving the truth – relentlessly pursuing facts and shedding light on the most important issues.

Download our guide to find out more about some of this year’s most talented and influential young journalists.


(PDF 6.11 MB)