MHP toasts young media stars

Adam Batstone

MHP Communications has announced the winners of this year’s Young Journalist Awards: 30 To Watch, which recognise the brightest young talent in the UK media.

The 30 winners – all of whom were under 30 when nominated – were selected from more than 200 entries and include journalists from across print, broadcast and online media.The judges said that in an increasingly competitive industry, the winners demonstrated creativity, resourcefulness and determination.

They were particularly keen to recognise the work of journalists who may not yet be household names, but who deliver stories which frequently set the UK news agenda.

Tim Shipman, political editor of The Sunday Times, made reference to the growing influence of digital journalists, as he presented the awards at the Hospital Club in central London.

He said:  “I’m delighted to see journalists from Politico and Buzzfeed on the list. The Lobby and politicians themselves know how influential these sites are and ignore them at their peril.”

This year’s judging panel comprised Camilla Mankabady, programme editor, ITV News; Peter Campbell, motor industry correspondent at the Financial Times; and David Wooding, politicial editor of The Sun on Sunday. The MHP judges were former journalists Adam Batstone, Keith Gladdis and Ian Kirby, the head of the MHP Media Unit and former political editor of the News of the World.

Among the 30 winners the judges picked out five gold award winners for special commendation.

They are:

News: Finola Miles, ITV News

Digital: Jane Bradley, Buzzfeed

Features, Matt Quinton, The Sun

Business/Trade: Tom Hale, The Financial Times

Judges’ Award: Megan Lucero, Bureau of Investigative Journalism

Ian Kirby said: “MHP started these awards six years ago because the industry was changing and its own industry awards were failing to keep up. Young reporters simply weren’t getting the credit they deserved.

“We wanted to see journalists whose work stood out. Not just big agenda-setting stories, although there were plenty of those, but fearless, innovative journalism. We looked at reporters who were breaking exclusives in tough, competitive markets, people who had become specialists in their field.”

Alex Bigg, the Chief Executive of MHP Communications, said: “The media is vital to our clients and we are proud of our excellent contacts throughout broadcast, print and digital journalism. MHP is delighted to recognise the talents of these young journalists and we hope and expect them to go on and achieve great things in the years to come.”

This year’s MHP Young Journalist 30 To Watch winners are:


Gold: Finola Miles – ITV News

Henry Zeffman – The Times

Hayley Dixon – The Daily Telegraph

Kate Proctor – The  Evening Standard

Daisy Wyatt – The i

Katie Morley – The Daily Telegraph


Gold: Jane Bradley – Buzzfeed

Charlie Cooper – Politico

Cherry Wilson – BBC News

Aisha Gani – Buzzfeed

Courtney Cameron – Edinburgh Evening News

Harriet Line – Press Association News

Business/Trade/ Specialist

Gold: Tom Hale – The Financial Times

Clare McDonald – Computer Weekly

Amber Rolt – Estates Gazette

Oscar Williams Grut – Business Insider

Chloe Cornish – The Financial Times

Michael Wilkinson – The Daily Telegraph


Gold: Matt Quinton – The Sun

Kirsten Jones – The Express

Sarah Biddlecombe – Stylist

Helen Ann Smith – Sky News

Oliver Duggan – The Guardian

Timothy Revell – New Scientist

Judges’ Award – recognising particularly eye-catching achievement

Gold: Megan Lucero – Bureau of Investigative Journalism

Ruje Yasmin – ITV News

Helen Whitehouse – Trinity Mirror

Simon Peach – Press Association Sport

Rachel Coburn – BBC News

Tom Payne – The Daily Mail

Martha Kelner – The Daily Mail/ Guardian