Judging complete in MHP Young Journalist Awards

The judges have met and the winners have been chosen for MHP Communications’ Young Journalist Awards: 30 To Watch.

Now in their sixth year, the awards have become an established and successful event which celebrates the best young talent in the British media.

Former gold winners like Sophy Ridge, Isabel Hardman and Jim Waterson have gone on to become established figures in the British media, all of whom recognise the value of being spotted at an early stage in their career.

While most journalism awards include a prize for young reporter, MHP’s Young Journalist Awards are the only event exclusively designed to highlight and commend the new generation of rising stars.

The Awards:

The MHP Young Journalist Awards: 30 To Watch will be held at The Hospital Club in Covent Garden, on June 13th

The top thirty winners will be invited to the event accompanied by a senior colleague

The top five Gold Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony which will be hosted by Sophy Ridge, of Sky News – herself a former 30 To Watch gold winner

The Judges:

MHP’s Young Journalist Awards: 30 To Watch are judged by an experienced panel drawn from across the UK media:

Peter Campbell: Motor industry correspondent for the FT and former 30 To Watch gold winner

Camilla Mankabady: Programme editor, ITV News at Ten

David Wooding: Political Editor, The Sun on Sunday

Adam Batstone: Director of MHP Communications, former Assistant Editor of BBC News website

Ian Kirby: Managing Director, MHP Communications, former Political Editor, News of the World

Andrew Leach: Managing Director of MHP Communications, former financial journalist for Mail on Sunday, The Scotsman and Birmingham Post

Nicole Martin: Associate Director of MHP Communications, former media correspondent, Daily Telegraph

Nick Collins: Account Director, MHP Communications, former science correspondent, Daily Telegraph

Former Winners:

Over the past five years MHP 30 To Watch winners have come from across the journalistic spectrum. What all of them have in common is the enthusiasm and zeal to make a real impact whether by breaking new stories, dogged research or inventive use of new technology.

This year for the first time, MHP will combine the annual awards with the publication of new research conducted among our former winners, which sheds light on the changing nature of the UK media.

The findings will be released to coincide with the announcement of the 2017 MHP Young Journalist Awards: 30 To Watch winners.

2016 Winners

2015 Winners

2014 Winners

2013 Winners

2012 Winners